X-Com: More Updates

All my time spent gaming has been dedicated to X-Com. I’ve tried a myriad of early game strategies out – different starting countries, more/less aggressive base-building approaches, more/less aggressive combat tactics. I’ve loved every minute of it. I also think I’m ready to settle in for a “real” attempt at Classic Ironman.

 The group I mentioned the other day in comments is still where it was, but I think I made a huge error in not getting Arc Throwers early on. The research timer and weapons which can be taken from aliens are a big boost. I’ll try to finish the game with that team, but I have a sneaking suspicion I’ve put myself behind in the arms race and it’s going to catch up with me sooner rather than later.

 I like that there are a myiad of approaches which have worked for people, from the non-traditional “start in South America and research like crazy” guy to the “here are the slow and steady ways to win the race” – I’ve seen quite a collection over on the 2K games forums.

 More X-Com now, please!

~ by Drew on October 16, 2012.

2 Responses to “X-Com: More Updates”

  1. I’ve won classic ironman with a “guns first” approach :) Worked wonders for me.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

