Not For The Faint Of Heart

 Last night was an unmitigated disaster.

 Okay, maybe not really, but it felt that way from my perspective.

 See, we usually have specific guild raids set up for Tuesday – Thursday, and then do whatever we have enough folks online for on the remaining days during the week. Yesterday was different, though; two of our main tanks, a healer, and a couple DPS were out of the mix due to real-life  obligations. The lone officer had to leave after a quick Patchwerk (weekly) takedown and I ended up as the raid leader – without any warning – and everyone was looking to me to decide what was going on next.

 We decided on ToC25, and I hated every minute of it.

 I’m sure it wouldn’t have been so bad if it was a guild-only run. Seeing as we were missing several core raiders and attempting to do 25-man ToC, though, we had to bring along some PuGs. And what a special collection they turned out to be:

* A 10 year-old who constantly asked “r?” and the like throughout the raid.

* A Deathknight who cast Path of Frost “as a joke” after the Twins fight, killing 7 people in the process.

* Several people who flaked out after the Twins fight once someone else won Death’s Choice.

It took us multiple shots to down the Champions. We didn’t manage to down Anub’arak as a result of being short-handed, and I felt bad for the casters in our guild who are still seeking Reign of the Dead. ToC 25m is on farm status for our guild and yesterday was just a mess. I feel like it’s my fault because I was in charge – be it by default, or whatever – and that’s a bummer. I play the game to have fun, not to feel guilty.

 So raid leaders and guild leaders everywhere, I applaud you. It’s a thankless job and one I do not envy at all.

~ by Drew on March 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
