It’s That Time Again

 I was out of town for the weekend and didn’t return until yesterday evening. Later that night, I had my second fantasy baseball draft of the weekend (this one online) and it wrapped up about 10pm. It was at that point that I looked at the computer monitor and realized I had absolutely no desire to log in and “play” WoW.

 I’ve often said that I play the game for the interaction with my guildmates, and that’s true. They’re great people and I love to raid with them. However, if we’re not raiding, I just don’t feel like there’s anything to “do” in WoW, and I’m pretty well tired of Icecrown Citadel. Granted, we’ve only downed seven of the bosses, but I don’t know that I have the motivation in me to plow through the other five.  

 There’s also the issue of the time-commitment that comes with raiding. Some nights my parental duties are done by 9pm – the little guy is asleep – but other nights he’s not. And those nights don’t always line up with raid nights, so then I feel like I’m letting my guildies down. The fact I can’t ever hit “Accept”, it’s always “Tentative” weighs on me, it shouldn’t I know it’s silly – and they never express anything to make me feel that way, it’s just how I am. And given that real life takes precendence over pixelated life, I’m not going to change that. All told, it brings me stress. I get enough of that at work, I don’t need it for a video game.

 So I cancelled my recurring subscription last night. It still runs through mid-May, and I’m sure I’ll be back for Cataclysm – I just think I’m done with raiding for now. It’ll be nice to just be able to relax and do what I want to do for a bit – baseball season is starting up and I like to watch the games, and perhaps I’ll get back into Fallen Earth – a game I can play on my time and terms. I still need to finish Dragon Age.

 I did this last year for a bit, too, and it was very refreshing. My guildies were very understanding the first time, and I’m sure they will be this time, as well.

~ by Drew on March 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “It’s That Time Again”

  1. I know the feeling. This is pretty much why I don’t raid (or live in null sec in EVE). Once my oldest hit school age it became even worse, because that alarm buzzer start going off much earlier in the morning to get her ready…

    • It does, indeed. I had some time off from work to kill last week and finally got to sleep in for a change – I can’t even tell you how refreshing that was!

Leave a Reply

 
