First Impressions – FFXIV

So I managed to squeeze in an hour or so of game play last night, but first – a huge tip:

* Check out the FFXIVCore forums for a link to an upload site for the patches. While people were waiting hours to download it from SE, I was able to get the 500MB 9/19 patch in 10 minutes, save it to the proper directory and start playing right away.

Now, on to the game, itself.

 I had done my best to avoid getting too much information about the game from the Beta. I just wanted some basic overviews which I was generally able to find. I wanted to go in fresh, basically, and try to recapture that first MMO feeling again. It worked pretty well, I think.

 I started my character, Tyko Zion, (I was thrilled to get ‘Tyko’ back, it was my FFXI main character’s name) on the Mysidia server. He started this life the same way he did the former, as a bald Midland Hyur Pugilist (Human Monk). I liked what I read about the desert City-State of Ul’Dah, so that’s where the journey began. I won’t spoiler anything just yet, but it was a cool intro.

 Let me say this – the graphics are absolutely breath-taking. I had been concerned about how the game would perform on my mid-range PC, but so far, so good. I have the settings slightly above normal, and it’s running like a dream, particularly for a (pre-)launch day.

 You absolutely must have a game pad to play this game. I mean, I guess you could be a masochist and do it with the keyboard/mouse, but I’d strongly urge against it. The game pad configuration recommended in the booklet is almost identical to what veteran FFXI players would remember, and it made my transition to FFXIV very smooth. The combat system is vastly different than the older game, but it’s interesting. I love the idea of limited actions based on a points system (similar to the BLU from FFXI), and that you can mix-and-match from your classes.

Guildleves are very similar to WoW quests, but they are class-focused (or Faction-based, but I haven’t seen one of those yet). Nothing fancy, but the interface at the crystal took me a minute to figure out. While the game is considerably more newbie-friendly than FFXI was at launch, it’s not much of a step ahead where FFXI was when I last left it – which was a bare-bones approach to helping the new folks. Entry into FFXIV still has the potential to be brutal if this is your first MMO, and difficult even if you’re familiar with them. I’m going to be doing some homework very soon.

Unlike FFXI, you get stat points to allocate each level (along with some Elemental Resistance points), and that would normally have me concerned about “messing up” my character. Do I need to just focus on one Melee-type character and roll (pay for) another character if I want to have a dedicated caster? Not sure yet, and frankly, I’m not going to stress about it. I just want to have fun and enjoy the ride.

And what a gorgeous ride it looks to be.

~ by Drew on September 23, 2010.

5 Responses to “First Impressions – FFXIV”

  1. Nice one, glad to hear you are enjoying it. Where are the screen shots ?!

    I contemplated giving this a roll but im not a big fan of gamepads on my pc. And what you mean pay for another character ? Is it one toon per account ala darkfall?

    • Yep, the pay structure for FFXIV is this:

      You pay $9.99 per month to access the game. You then pay $3.00 per month for each character slot.

      Now, in Final Fantasy XIV (as was the case in FFXI), your character can be all classes – so it’s markedly different than WoW. Given the change in the rules from FFXI, though, where you now spend your stat points rather than having them change when you change classes (based on race), it may be advantageous to have a Melee character and a Caster character – that’s just speculation on my part, though.

      Then, if you subscribe for multiple months, you get a bulk discount. Also, the first month is free.

      I’m not a big screenshot guy, but I’ll try to remember to take a few. 🙂

  2. This is not helping me at all resist… Damn you! 🙂

    Seriously, nice little mouth watering review

    • I’m so glad I could help! 😀

      Thanks; I hope to get some more time in this weekend and really get a feel for what’s going on. Tonight’s shaping up to be pretty busy,

  3. […] First Impressions – FFXIV September 2010 4 comments 3 […]

Leave a Reply

 
