Happy Friday!

 This has been an extremely long week from a work standpoint, so I’m very glad it’s almost over. I can’t believe it’s December already, though.

 Anyhow, from a gaming perspective, I got in an another hour or so of WoW Warlocking last night, joining Lono’s Walk The Plank guild and dinging level 10. The new talent system is certainly different; you get a pop-up box that shows you what special ability/spell you’ll gain by selecting a specific tree (in my case, a Felguard as I went demonology spec). I had already been a bit surprised to get a Voidwalker at level 8, seems like that used to be a level 20 ability or so before, but then again, I could’ve looked in my spellbook to see that was coming ahead of time. I do like that feature, it’s helpful to know without having to alt+tab out to check a website.

 I got to say hello and chat a bit with MMOGC and Kaozz last night as well. The latter asked me a question I had to think about for a minute:

“Rolling up an alt, or just killing time?”

While the simple answer was, “this isn’t my home server”, the longer answer was that I’m not sure I can go back to playing my hunter right now. It feels so foreign. While the change to focus makes logical sense, when I log in it just doesn’t feel the same. I almost feel obligated to re-roll from level 1 and re-learn the class from the start. I might just do that; it gives me the excuse I need to roll a goblin.

 The question then becomes where I’d roll it up at. Back on Ghostlands with the old guildies? Problem there is that many of them have split up into numerous other guilds, and the one that a good portion of them are centrally located in now is pretty big and established. I’m afraid I’d feel like the kid that moved out of the neighborhood when you were 11 coming back and trying to fit in with the college crowd 10 years later.

And at some point when I’m comfortable with the new mechanics, do I just go back to my main? Do I even want to raid again? Rated BGs sound like fun, maybe I want to go that route. Hmm.

I don’t really know.

I do know I dread doing certain aspects of the game all over again, and that might ultimately stop me from doing a complete “main change”. I’m enjoying the leveling process now, but will I enjoy Outland or Northrend again? I doubt it. I’ve done them a lot, already.

So, Kaozz, thanks for making me think. “We’ll see” is the best answer I’ve got for such an innocent question, I think.

~ by Drew on December 3, 2010.

8 Responses to “Happy Friday!”

  1. Anytime 😉

    I know how you feel, in a way. I’m also sort of torn about playing up the Hunter or another character. As of now I have no idea what I will do when Cataclysm hits. Go explore with one of the mains or make an alt? I’ll probably roll a goblin first (and get it out of my system) just because I’m dying to play one!

    Our guild is small right now but we do plan on it growing! So, if you stayed here, you would certainly have a place with us 😀

    • Hey Kaozz!

      I finally took it upon myself to log in on the hunter, get to a training dummy, and try to feel out the new mechanics. Blizzard has done a really nice job incorporating some great mods into the base UI; it was interesting to see things pop up, such as when I had reached 5 frenzy stacks, etc. It’s still going to take some getting used to, but I’m excited to give the hunter another go.

      On the flip side, I’m really enjoying the Warlock and new low-level quests – I’m up to 21 now, I think. 🙂

      • I’m so torn about what to play first still lol. But yeah the hunter transition is very well done. I’m glad you got the chance to get a feel for it!

  2. Was fun seeing you with us. Even if you go back to the hunter, feel free to drop by and say hi whenver you feel like it or whenever you want to hide from your server 🙂

  3. That sounds like fun actually. What server are you guys on again? Silvermoon or something like that?

  4. Yep, Walk The Plank is over on the Silvermoon-US server, Horde side.

    Great group of folks, and I’ll definitely be keeping an alt over here, even with my main over on Ghostlands. 🙂

    Join us, Moj, you know you don’t want to be a night elf, really. Everyone wants to be a goblin!

  5. I felt the same way too when I didn’t have a horde character, since all my other characters are on the Alliance side. It’s a little different, I know, since you’re talking servers and I”m talking factions, but in the end both require you to start over from scratch and divide your time. There was a part of me that wanted to see what it’s like on the other side, but another part of me was like, ugh, I don’t know if I can get myself to do it. Well, when Cataclysm was announced, I finally did it to see the Horde side before it gets completely changed by the Cataclysm, and I’m glad I did that. Alliance is still definitely the home of my main, but I will hop over on the hordie once in a while, since Walk The Plank is a great guild 🙂

  6. Everyone but me my friend! I might just create an alt though (probably a blood elf – sexah!) just to say hi and tool around with you guys when time allows.

Leave a Reply

 
