What I’ve Done

 Well don’t I have just a cute little alternative music theme going here from Staind to Linkin Park song titles. Of course, it’s been almost a month since I last posted – apologies for that – but here’s the down and dirty.

* Tried FFXIV again. Still fails for me without an auction house. Big kudos for the interface fixes, though; much speedier. I think the other major problem for me is that my friends from FFXI are not playing. FFXI was a “home” where my roommate and (long now ex-) girlfriend played and enjoyed the game together. I don’t have that feeling in FFXIV.

* Played a good chunk of WoW. The Orc Hunter is level 85, has done quite a bit of PvP, power-leveled skinning (seriously, no one is a skinner on Ghostlands, and I’m making stupid amount of money), maxed LW, and have done a couple heroics (with guildies only – much better that way, and fun times). I’m still not sure I have any desire to raid again – the time commitment is a bit steep – but the PvP has been a blast. I desperately want to do rated BGs, but the guild I’m in is a raiding guild with my old pals, they don’t PvP much. So I’m stuck again – I know the reason I’m back in WoW is because of my buddies, so can I find a rated BG team without having to leave the guild?

* Feeling the itch badly to play Fallen Earth again. Such a great immersive game. I know I don’t have time for both WoW and FE, though. The remaining combat change patches should be coming soon for FE, and maybe I will have had my fill of PvP and heroics by then and decide not to raid. Who knows?

* I found out yesterday that a former guildie passed away last week. It was really sad news because he was a guy I often joked around with on vent because he had kids about the same age as mine. We made “Wonderpets” jokes and I’ll always remember the “beep” his malfunctioning smoke alarm made in the background constantly. He was a good RL friend of another guildie, and I know he’s taking it pretty hard. I don’t know the details, but it’s just really sad to lose someone that young. We’ll miss you, Demon (toon nickname), and I hope your family has a strong support system to see them through this difficult time, my friend.

~ by Drew on December 30, 2010.

4 Responses to “What I’ve Done”

  1. Sorry to hear about your guildie.

  2. Very sorry to hear about your guild mate passing away. That has to be so hard on his family, I wish them the best of luck.

    I didn’t know FFXI didn’t have an AH. I think that’s a big reason I don’t stick around in Everquest as much, no AH. I just don’t see how any game can not have an AH/Broker system these days.

  3. I think in MMOs, unlike any other genre, your impressions of the game are very much influenced by the type of people you run with and the company you keep (or the company that keeps you). That is the primary reason FF-XI will never be the same for you and EVE Online will never be the same for me.

    Very sorry to hear about your guildie mate, I’ll pray for the departed. Keep yer chin up!

  4. Thanks, everyone, for the kind words.

    @Kaozz: FFXIV doesn’t have an Auction House; FFXI did. It sounds like one is in the works, however, and the new regime that has taken over 14 has set about polling the community for ideas. I’m not sure how that’s going to work out, but we’ll see!

    @Bronte: Absolutely; it’s why I find myself back playing WoW when I know I’d rather play Fallen Earth (the game). The company in WoW is great; FE is a little empty for me, and nothing will ever match my initial memories of FFXI.

Leave a Reply

 
