Quote of the Day

Vanilla EQ was like paying a fee to get your balls kicked every evening. -VikingGamer on Tobold’s blog.

 

I couldn’t help but chuckle when I read that, but another commenter – Laura – really hit the nail on the head for me when she insinuated that what people are truly looking for is something like EQ, only up-to-date for 2011. And I realize now that’s really what I hoped FFXIV would be – and it failed miserably at that goal. I wanted FFXI part II, and got “here’s some tedious stuff with terrible lag and no Auction House”, instead.

It’s pretty awesome, though, that the first progression server is FULL. They’ve already had to open a second one. I’m impressed, and while yes, I’m sure a huge part of it is nostalgia, something tells me there’s a lot of gamers out there who do want something ‘harder’ than WoW, but equally fun- and by ‘harder’ I’m referring to the leveling game, making it meaningful.

I’ve been super-busy this week so far, and have yet to make it back into FFXI (I resubbed for a month with the XP update), but I’m so looking forward to it.

~ by Drew on February 16, 2011.

3 Responses to “Quote of the Day”

  1. Things are really different on the Fippy server than they were in the ‘classic’ Everquest. It’s fun to pop in but I’d rather play on the normal servers.

    • I’m very curious to see how long the love affair lasts this time around for many of those who went back. 🙂

      I never played EQ, so I don’t have any desire, but we’ll see how long I stick with FFXI again. I played for a bit last night and enjoyed the new upgraded XP gains; looking forward to getting to some content I didn’t make it to the first time around (and new stuff!).

  2. Well, you already know that I’m “probably” not going to go very far with the EQ prog server. I just don’t have the time to spend on leveling like I once did.

Leave a Reply

 
