Scattered

  So my gaming-ADD kicked in this weekend and as a result I passed on playing Oblivion in favor of The Witcher 2.  Strange things happen to me with single-player games, I can’t even begin to understand it. I can only think of one game in recent memory which I started and completed before attempting to take on another game – that was King’s Bounty: Armored Princess. Dragon Age: Origins, Fallout 3, The Witcher, Dragon Age II, Fallout: New Vegas – with all of those I started, stopped, played something different, then came back or started over entirely. So it isn’t greatly surprising that I’ve “paused” Oblivion to tackle The Witcher 2 – a game which I had tremendously high hopes for and failed miserably at launch for me.

 Why did it fail at launch?

 Fortunately I own a game controller, because the game was unplayable for me with a mouse and keyboard, even on the lowest graphical setting. For whatever reason, the keyboard/mouse response was just dreadful. That problem solved, the inventory system was a train wreck. I enjoyed the challenging combat – but I just had other stuff going on at the time, too, and I tossed in the towel early.

 So why now?

 The Witcher 2 has undergone multiple patches since release and ironically enough the most recent patch went into place under a week ago, I believe. I had absolutely no idea. So while I’d like to say that it’s because CD Projekt got their act together, that totally wasn’t it. I just wanted to play a game with an engaging plot, action-combat, and where I wouldn’t have to write down skill level ups. (Yes, I know it’s unnecessary in Oblivion, but I can’t get past doing it. Yes, I’m that peculiar.) Remembering what pissed me off most about TW2 the first time through, I installed a “zero weight patch”. Mercifully, I will not have to run back to town every 5 minutes to sell crap now. (Are we sensing a theme, here? I focused on my Oblivion character to have high-STR for carry weight. I am a packrat.) I am now officially “in love” with The Witcher 2 the way I was with The Witcher the second go-round.

The plot is SO good. The choices are so not black-and-white. The world is believable. The politics are slimy. It’s great. Great, great, great. And the tutorial added in the latest patch was also a nice touch.

~ by Drew on October 3, 2011.

4 Responses to “Scattered”

  1. Not so black-and–white? Dude! The choice between Iorveth and Roethe let’s you play two COMPLETELY different games, depending on who you sided with. It’s like 1.7 games in one!

    • Sorry, I should have been more clear. 🙂

      The moral choices aren’t black-and-white. There are tough decisions all over the place – I love it! (And loved it in the original Witcher!)

  2. The Witcher 2 is one of those “some day” games, even though I bought it at launch. (It’s a sickness.) For now I’m contenting myself with Magic DotP (which is great) and researching how WoW private servers work (which is resoundingly crazy).

    • As someone who played MtG profusely through college and a few years beyond, I should definitely check out Duel of the Planeswalkers based on what I’ve read (your blog, I think!). I just don’t have the time/friends around/ resources to play much any with the cards anymore, which is a shame, because that is a terrific game. The way Magic reinvents itself with every expansion block yet remains true to the basic tenets of the game is pretty impressive.

Leave a Reply

 
