I’m Having A Hard Time…

 …not returning to Vana’diel. This post on That’s A Terrible Idea includes a link to the MMORPG.com forums where someone is outlining all the great features that make FFXI more accessible than it used to be. I knew about all these things, of course, and have experienced a couple of them. Somehow, though, I missed the server merges. The idea that my realm could be hopping with more people than ever before is enticing. There’s also the upcoming June update which expands the level cap and removes the level restrictions on the Chains of Promathia missions – something I desperately want to complete. 

 There are two things curtailing the urge to return- the first being the great time I’m having in Fallen Earth. I have been working hard on my Armorcrafting – outfitting Slimm in almost a full new set of gear last night – and am about 40% of the way to building my very own Cargo ATV.

The second thing is FFXIV. It’s not too far off – I can feel it. More and more information is being released, and it seems like Square-Enix has a pretty good handle on where the game is headed. The problem is that FFXIV is also a draw to go back to FFXI at the same time. A great number of FFXI players will migrate to FFXIV and this is a perfect opportunity to build connections for the new game.

 I won’t be the least bit surprised if I re-sub in the near future.

~ by Drew on June 7, 2010.

6 Responses to “I’m Having A Hard Time…”

  1. I wouldnt be surprised if FFXIV launched before Cataclysm with the rate Blizzard is working at. If Cataclysm doesnt make it into beta within the month I think its going to be a loooooooong summer 😦

    I actually downloaded Fallen Earth again via steam on my new PC so its there if and when I want 🙂

    • Yep, I’m curious to see how many others, like me, have let their subs lapse in anticipation of Cataclysm. I have absolutely no desire to log into WoW right now until the new stuff hits, and I don’t think I’ll have any problem holding out until then.

      And like I’ve said before, FFXIV is my self-declared “Final MMO”, so if it hits before Cataclysm, there’s a good chance I’ll never make it back to WoW.

      Glad to hear you’ve re-installed Fallen Earth – hope to see you in-game, sometime. If anything, the game is just so different from everything else out there I feel good supporting it (and I’m having a blast).

      • yup unsure of when I’ll return to Fallen Earth as for now Im busy helping my friend to 80 (although am bored of the Hunter class already), after that I may leave him to fend for himself for a while. Depends if I get into Beta etc I suppose

  2. What?! Bored of the Hunter Class? Blasphemy!

    • Wasn’t quite done there, oops. Anyhow, I could only run alts so far before I bored of the same content over again – my interest usually waned somewhere in the 40s.

      • well I’ve started a Tauren Druid alt as well so am trying to catch up with my mate on that + play with my hunter with him. Its hard going lol

Leave a Reply

 
